Everyday Life · expat life · Favorite People

Intersectional Activism

This was one of the best things that I’ve done with any given two hours of my life on a weeknight.  

The Hammer Museum hosted a forum on intersectional activism with Kimberle Crenshaw and Eve Ensler as speakers.  

I watched the Vagina Monologues when my university staged it about ten years ago, so I know Eve Ensler, the playwright who wrote it. And now here she was in front of me a decade after. I felt like I came full circle. 

I’ve come upon the term “intersectional feminism” more frequently in the past couple of years or so, but I had no idea that Kimberle Crenshaw was a critical force in its development. Now I do. 

It was such a privilege to hear these brilliant empowered passionate women speak from their minds and hearts. There are current issues that seem so absurd, but they’re real. And there are people working very hard to find solutions. I came out of that forum enraged and depressed and hopeful and inspired. Scott and I continued to talk about it late into the night. One week later and my head is still spinning. Now, off to the library. I have a lot of catch up reading to do!

Leave a Reply

