Uncategorized

International Women’s Day

This is a bit late, but I wanted to greet all women a happy International Women’s Day. To commemorate this day, I read some poems written by Nepali women. I like to get to know people through their personal stories, but because I’m not exactly good at socializing, besides I can’t speak Nepali (yet!), I stick to reading books. So far I’ve only read a couple of novels, and this is my first try at poetry. It’s a compilation of poems by Nepali women, specifically about their identities as Nepali women. So I thought it was a fitting way to look in from the outside, so to speak.

I include with this post a picture of the book cover, and a postcard with lines from the poem The Type by the beautiful amazing spoken word poet Sarah Kay. I think they’re powerful words to take to heart, not just today but every day.

Happy International Women’s Day, women! 🙂

17230344_10154821775966253_734915029_o

Leave a Reply

