Life in Nepal · Personal · Uncategorized

Christmas and New Year in Nepal

So I ended 2016 and started 2017 in Nepal. That meant I spent Christmas and New Year here. Both of these holidays are a very big deal in the Philippines, and the weeks before, between, and after them are abuzz with activities. There are Christmas parties left and right, in school, at work, with family. This is the season when people go back to their hometowns so lots of meet-ups are organized at this time – family reunions, high school reunions, weddings, etc.

For obvious reasons, Christmas is not a thing in Nepal. Maybe for the Nepali Christians, but for the most part, not really. And because Nepal does not follow the Gregorian calendar, New Year is also not a thing. So here I was, in what is hands down the most important season in my year, surrounded by all this…indifference. But it is what it is, and this is our life, at least for now. By the grace of God, and with the support of Scott, I survived it, with zero drama. I am definitely thankful that I moved away from home in this day and age. I managed to Skype with all members of my family, scattered in 5 locations in 3 countries. So this year’s holiday season was very different, but for my own sake I don’t consider it bad. Just different.

So, my belated new year greetings to everyone, and here’s to a wonderful and exciting 2017!

Leave a Reply

