Life in Nepal · Personal · Uncategorized

Skin care regimen in cold weather

My skin care regimen is very basic. Just facial wash, toner, and moisturizer for my face. And lotion for my body. And then some sunscreen if I leave the house. This has worked well for me in the past years, so I’ve had no reason to modify it. Until now.

With the exception of face wash, I brought all of my skin products from the Philippines, all suited for my oily skin. And then I brought from a local supermarket here a face wash that’s for oily skin. But unlike my hot and humid home country, Nepal is cold and dry. Which made my skin dry. I’m having breakouts on my face, something I haven’t experienced since…puberty? And even then it wasn’t this severe. And my hands are extremely sunburned.

Scott teases that I’m just used to a pampered life. In truth, I’m just not used to this weather. I don’t even have cracks on my feet, but here I have cracks…on my hands!!!

I’ve consulted with my friend about this matter, and I’m currently sifting through what Google churned out for me. From what I understand, the general idea is to stay away from hot showers and products that can strip your skin of its natural oils. Also, to shift to oil-based cream moisturizers instead of the water-based ones (which were the ones I had, owing to my oily skin).

Here’s to hoping I’ll find what I need here. And that this issue gets resolved soon. In the greater scheme of things, this is really a minor inconvenience. So it’s not that I’m choosing to be shallow and petty. The reason I want this over soon is because there’s already so many major changes my life, that I don’t want to have to deal with the small ones on top of them.

Any tips for me? What products do you use in winter? Anything I should avoid?

Leave a Reply

