Life in Nepal · Uncategorized

New Wife, New Life

Much has changed since we got married. Not so much in our relationship with each other, but more about the things that are happening around us. I will have a growing list of new experiences, but for now, here are the main ones.

Food. The kind of food is an obvious change. But meal times is also new. I used to eat three rice meals in a day – breakfast at 7, lunch at 12, and dinner at 7. And then there’s coffee at around 4 in the afternoon. Here there are two main meals (mostly with rice, but not always) – late morning and late evening, with some tea and light snacks at various times of the day. I find this a bit tricky to adjust to. I think the reason why people here can go for long hours without eating is because of the huge portion of rice that is consumed at mealtimes. My eating habit, on the other hand, is having a little bite of something every few hours or so.

Language is another obvious change. The weather too. We joke that the Philippines only has two seasons – hot and hotter. And humid. But Kathmandu is cool (now cold) and dry.

Tea. Lots of tea. I miss my coffee.

Kurta salwar. All day every day.

Squat toilet. Not really new. I lived with squat toilets in China for some years but I have since moved back to the Philippines with its western style toilets, so this is new again.

Morning rituals. I previously had none to speak of. Now I have sindoor, bindi, pote, bangles, and different ways of saying good morning to different people.

Jewelry. More specifically, gold jewelry. Before, I only have a pair of silver earrings for daily use, and pearl studs for special occasions. Now I have the wedding ring, and necklace, and earrings, and another pair of earrings for daily use. Gold for daily use!? I find this amazing because back home, wearing gold jewelry is not as prevalent so you’d definitely attract thieves if you do, and on a daily basis.

People. More people. There are cousins and aunties and uncles and grandmas, and in-laws, and sons and daughters of cousins, and they’re all family.

Rooftops. And multi-story houses. There’s a blog that goes by Rooftops of Kathmandu, or something like it. I now understand where the name comes from. There’s life in the rooftops here.

Bells. For prayer. I hear them at various times in the day, and every time that I do, the mental picture that I get is of ice cream. Haha.

Have you lived in a different country? What changes, big or small, did you notice first? 

3 thoughts on “New Wife, New Life

Leave a Reply

