Personal

Feminist Pages on Facebook

So I use Facebook, but not so much. I use the messenger feature to chat with my sisters and friends, but I care very little about what pops up on my newsfeed. And during the national elections a few months ago, it just became this place for arguments, bad memes, false information, and black propaganda. And in the very rare times that I checked Facebook on those days, the only source of good vibes in the midst of all the negativity (cheesy, but true!) was A Mighty Girl.

On their Facebook page, they feature the inspiring stories of women and girls, in history and in the present, who do remarkable things in their daily lives, with accompanying suggestions for related books or movies for different age groups. Their website is an online resource for “books, movies, and music for parents, teachers, and others dedicated to raising smart, confident, and courageous girls.”

They believe that “all children should have the opportunity to read books and watch movies that offer positive messages about girls and honor their diverse capabilities. Girls do not have to be relegated to the role of sidekick or damsel in distress; they can be the leaders, the heroes, the champions that save the day, find the cure, and go on the adventure. It is our hope that these high-quality children’s products will help a new generation of girls to grow and pursue whatever dreams they choose — to truly be Mighty Girls!”

I love this page. In general, I like learning about good work that’s being done in the world, especially work being done by females. Because these are not as prevalent as features on men. When you read historical text, and go through all the important people who contributed to the advances in Science, Art, Music, Philosophy, it would seem like women did not exist in the world. Granted, there were fewer opportunities for women in the past to make significant contributions to various fields. But even in more recent history, where women already had the opportunities yet are still refused the recognition they are due, is something that needs to change.  As an example, Watson and Crick figured out the structure of the DNA using the work of Rosalind Franklin, yet she continues to be excluded in the prevailing narrative of that landmark scientific discovery. I learned about Watson and Crick in school, and about Rosalind Franklin when I read her biography much later. I realized then that if I wanted to hear more stories about women, I have to seek them out because they are rarely handed to me.

And the cool thing about a Facebook page is that if you like one, similar pages pop out as suggestions. So I have added two more below. (Note: I follow their FB pages, but I linked to their websites because there’s a lot more content there.)

SheHeroes “showcases heroic women’s achievements through first-person video interviews.

There mission is to empower “young girls of all backgrounds to dream big, explore their interests and passionately pursue non-traditional careers. Through our online content and video profiles, girls imagine their own potential by engaging with influential stories of exceptional, successful women role models across all fields.”

Women You Should Know serves as a “source of information and inspiration for women.

This is accomplished, in part, by telling and championing the untold stories of relatable, everyday women (and girls) across the country and globe who are making things happen in their world; those who have outperformed, innovated, discovered, defied and soared. By telling their stories and giving them a voice, the goal is to encourage other women to realize their own potential and go after what they want. WYSK also covers pioneering women from history, those better known and those who have been completely erased.”

I have previously written about one woman I admire here, and I would like to know more inspiring women, and the pages/websites above are the best places to find them.

 

Extra: NOVA’s The Secret Life of Scientists and Engineers is “an Emmy-nominated web-series from the acclaimed PBS series, NOVA. Secret Life profiles today’s leading scientists…and shows what they’re like when the lab coats come off – like a biochemist who competed for Miss America and a microbiologist who’s a professional wrestler.”

I like The Secret Life because it profiles scientists, engineers, and mathematicians in a fun and engaging way. These fields as seen as tough, and the people in them stiff and boring, but this series debunks these stereotypes.

 

Final note: Someone told me that he follows A Mighty Girl because he is a father of two girls. While I find that commendable, I think parents of girls AND boys should introduce their daughters and sons to inspiring world changers, regardless of whether they’re men or women, or don’t identify as either. I am not a parent but I follow these pages for inspiration, for myself. Anyone can follow these pages, and if it was up to me, I think everyone should 🙂

 

Do you follow similar websites? If so, please add them on the comments section!

Leave a Reply

